Boy Almighty. Feike Feikema, Frederick Manfred.

Boy Almighty

Saint Paul: The Itasca Press, a Division of the Webb Publishing Company, 1945. First Edition. Hardcover. Octavo; pp; xii, 338; green cloth with a red spine tile with gilt lettering. a rear jacket panel is affixed to the rear paste-down else a very good copy lacking the jacket. Item #18803

This copy is inscribed to a personal friend and signed Fred. Manfred published The Primitive, the first novel in his World's Wanderer trilogy, in 1949. It was poorly received, and the next two books in the trilogy, The Brother (1950) and The Giant (1951), met with mixed reviews. In 1952 Manfred decided to change his name from Frederick Feikema to Frederick Feikema Manfred, and Frederick Manfred became his publishing name. Lord Grizzly, the first of The Buckskin Man Tales, was the first work Manfred published under his new name. It was a best seller and one of the finalists for the National Book Award in 1954. The Buckskin Man Tales are the novels Lord Grizzly, Conquering Horse, Scarlet Plume, King of Spades, and Riders of Judgment.

Price: $45.00

See all items in Fiction
See all items by ,